“WORKING ON YES!” By Rachel Camero

Standard
Being a YES takes work.  It’s not easy to embrace the opportunities that life offers us.  In fact, it’s not even easy to recognize them when they are in front of us. Opportunities can arrive disguised as challenges or adversity.  Other opportunities show up as things we determine to be out of reach.
Last week I was presented with such an opportunity.  A friend mentioned that she’d like to go to Kona Hawaii and stay at her parents’ house before it is being sold at the end of March.  Immediately, I thought, “yah, that would be awesome” and then shrugged it off as an out of reach concept and let it go.  Two days later I received a text, “Kona?”.
Suddenly the realization that my friend was serious and that I was not sunk in.  While I continued to write it off as impossible, the feeling that I wasn’t open to being a YES nagged at me.   Still, I focused on all of the reasons it was unrealistic.
  • Short notice
  • It will cost money I wasn’t planning to spend
  • I have too much going on a work
  • I’d be away from my family (and on my Birthday)
  • My husband is traveling for work, who will care for the kids?
 I had made up my mind that it was just not good timing.  But still I felt unsettled by my own unwillingness.  I started to explore the deeper reasons behind my resistance.  Thoughts and feelings about being outside of my comfort zone showed up.  I might start to feel awkward with my friend and her family (believe it or not, I’m an introvert and need time alone or with my family to recharge)?  What if don’t look good in a bathing suit?  What if I can’t keep up with my friend in the surf?  In other words, feelings of self-doubt and insecurity with leaving my comfort zone were my largest obstacle.
As I came to this realization, I knew deep down that I had to find my way to YES!  A few more days passed, but I began to check off my logistical obstacles one by one.  I began to evaluate my blessings.  A loving husband who absolutely supports me having independent lady fun.  Parents and in-laws who love spending time with my kids and have helped me raise them with love.  A great job with flexibility and an income that supports this type of spontaneity.
With no logistical obstacles remaining, I was forced to face my deeper insecurities.  I want to continue to challenge the boundaries of my comfort zone.  Every time I do this, my comfort zone gets larger and more inclusive of amazing experiences.  When it comes to a new challenge at work, or at home, I know how to embrace it.  But, for some reason, simply taking a personal trip without my family put me on edge.
I’m writing this now to say I am a YES!  My flight is booked and I’ll have subs for my classes this week.  I can’t wait to share my experiences with you in class when I get back.  Now that I’ve written this, it feels so silly to think it was difficult for me to arrive at YES for something like this.  I mean, how blessed am I that this is what I struggle with?  But the truth is, we all have areas where we need to work on YES.  Today I am a YES!
Rachel Camero
Spotted Dog Yoga Teacher
Leave a Reply

