“Give Up the Need to Know” by Emily Kendall

Standard
 The 40 Days to Personal Revolution Program is about to start and I am SO excited. I love this program; gaining a deeper understanding of yoga philosophy, learning and exploring the new habits and practices related to my diet and stress management, not to mention the enhanced camaraderie around the studio! It has changed my life in so many positive ways.
“I don’t have enough time – how can I?” Of course, there is that voice! That one in the back of my head. Typically it doesn’t have anything good to say. You know the one. It creeps into thoughts and says, “You don’t have time for that!” “You aren’t going to make all the meetings, so how can you really succeed?”
During the last 40 Days Program I almost didn’t participate due to business travel for work. The energy was building at the studio with excitement and I was going to sit this one out. The thought of not being 100% available made me feel like a failure, even before the program started.
“Give up the need to know.” A sign I interacted with almost daily after my yoga practice – posted on the exit door of the PLAY HARD room at Spotted Dog Yoga (SDY). This idea was a foreign philosophy. I have spent my nearly 40 years on this earth collecting ALL and everything I can. And I love planning, planning my day, planning my week, planning anything and everything. This sign challenged me, challenged my life long belief to know, to know ALL I possibly can.
Fellow yogis were talking more and more about the upcoming 40 Days Program. I was frustrated, I wanted to sign up too…but how? How can I make it all work? I can’t figure it all out! I can’t plan every detail. Suddenly it hit me like a ton of yoga blocks! I was scared that I wouldn’t be able to participate and commit to my fullest because life was too busy. I was willing to give up without even trying. I couldn’t control where I was going to be and where I was going to eat, I didn’t even want to sign up and see what I could do with my life at this current busy state.
I had to “give up the need to know,” to give up that my participation needed to be all planned out. Suddenly being out of town felt like an opportunity! Yes, I can’t plan for everything but here is a chance to practice. To practice my commitment to self-care even though my schedule is not perfect for it. Life is outside my control and I am going to commit to doing the work with what I have in the present moment.
The perfect time rarely comes when you want it too. Life keeps going – often not as planned.
Yes, travelling and doing the program was challenging at the same time. I missed a meeting and didn’t make it to all the Friday night practices, but I also got to practice at new studios with interesting and fun teachers. The daily meditation practice grounded me in my commitment again and again as a reminder to do the work and balance what I could do with my schedule. The weekly themes gave me new and powerful tools to help me move through any extra unforeseen daily challenges. Plus I had the support of my fellow yogis in this powerful and supportive community at SDY.
It was another life changing experience, I lost weight, tried new recipes, enhanced my yoga practice and shifted my resistance towards meditation. I recommend this program to everyone!
Emily Kendall
Spotted Dog Yoga Teacher
One thought on ““Give Up the Need to Know” by Emily Kendall

Leave a Reply

