Yoga Myth #2: I’m too old for yoga

Standard

There’s a lovely quote that reads, “We are always the same age inside.” It’s attributed to Gertrude Stein. As for me, I think I will be eternally 11 years old.

maxresdefault

But as I age there are definitely changes going on in my body. I don’t recover from intense workouts as easily as I used to. I worked a Sober Grad Night a few years ago, and stayed up until 4:30 am. In my 20’s that would have been no problem. In my late 40’s, I felt like a bus had hit me the day after.

But here’s the thing. I believe you’re never too old to do yoga. Because what our bodies need is movement. The “use it or lose it” principle applies both to strength and flexibility. And if you’ve seen someone who moves like an old person (no matter what their age), what you’re usually seeing is a limited range of motion in his or her joints.

I love many things about Spotted Dog Yoga, and one of them is the Power Soft classes. Let’s say you’re someone who doesn’t feel ready to jump right in to a Power Flow class. The Power Soft classes, with the reduced heat, and combination of flow and yin poses is a perfect place to start, or to stay if it’s what works for you.

To sum it up, I think there’s a yoga truth. And here it is: You are NEVER too old to do yoga.

Please let me know your thoughts and SHARE this post if you agree!

See you on your mat,

Leslie

gandy

Here is a little extra inspiration for you.

Leave a Reply

